CDA Credentials Eligibility Criteria or Requirements 2024

CDA Credentials Eligibility Criteria / Requirements 2024: The Council for Professional Recognition establishes the eligibility criteria for obtaining a Child Development Associate (CDA) credential.

CDA Credentials Eligibility Criteria

Test NameCDA Credential Program
Administered byCouncil for Professional Recognition
Testing center onlinePearson VUE
Online exam fee$425
Total Questions65 MCQS
Test ModeOnline CBT
Questions TypesMultiple Choice Questions
Exam Duration45 minutes
Credentials ValidityThree (3) years
EligibilityCDA Credentials Eligibility Criteria
After the complicationCDA Career Opportunities

These criteria ensure that CDA candidates possess the necessary knowledge, skills, and experience to provide high-quality care and education to young children. The eligibility criteria differ based on the CDA setting (i.e., center-based, family child care, and home visitor), but generally include the following requirements:

  1. Age and Education:
  • Candidates must be at least 18 years old.
  • Candidates must have a high school diploma or equivalent, such as a GED.
  1. Early Childhood Education (ECE) Training:
  • Candidates must complete 120 hours of formal ECE training, covering the eight CDA subject areas specified by the Council for Professional Recognition.
  • At least 10 hours of training must be dedicated to each subject area.
  1. Work Experience:
  • Center-based candidates must have 480 hours of experience working with children in the age group of their desired credential (i.e., infant-toddler or preschool).
  • Family childcare candidates must have 480 hours of experience working with children from birth to age 5 in a family childcare setting.
  • Home visitor candidates must have 480 hours of experience working with children and families in a home-visiting capacity.
  1. Professional Portfolio:
  • Candidates must prepare a professional portfolio that includes a collection of resource materials, reflective statements, and documentation of competency in each of the six CDA functional areas.
  1. Family Questionnaires:
  • Candidates must distribute and collect completed family questionnaires from the families of the children they work with. These questionnaires provide valuable feedback on the candidate’s interactions with children and families.
  1. Observation and Verification Visit:
  • Candidates must successfully complete an observation by a CDA Professional Development (PD) Specialist, who will assess their competence in the six functional areas and adherence to the Council’s standards.
  • Candidates will also participate in a reflective dialogue with the PD Specialist to discuss their experiences and knowledge of early childhood education.
  1. CDA Exam:
  • Candidates must pass the CDA Exam, which is a computer-based assessment covering the eight CDA subject areas and measuring the candidate’s understanding of the CDA Competency Standards.

It is essential to review the specific requirements for the CDA setting and age group you are pursuing, as there may be variations in eligibility criteria. For detailed information on the CDA credentialing process and eligibility requirements, visit the Council for Professional Recognition’s website.